Duke Vladislav II founded Plasy monastery in the Střela Valley in 1144/1146 as one of the oldest Cistercian monasteries in Bohemia. Monks from the Franconian Langheim settled Plasy. The monastery experienced a second period of prosperity after the Thirty Years‘ War: the baroque new buildings of the monastery, the large foursided courtyards and the pilgrimage church of Marianske Tynice are still characteristic of the landscape today – as are extensive agricultural areas for grain and fruit cultivation.
In 1144/1146, Duke Vladislav II donated the Abbey of Plasy (Plass) as one of the oldest Cistercian monasteries in Bohemia in a picturesque valley of the river Stsela. Monks from the Franconian Langheim (daughter monastery of Ebrach, Primarabtei Morimond) settled Plass/Plasy and gradually built a monastery business with more than 50 villages, farms, mills and other goods. The Hussitian Revolution in the first half of the 15th century could not affect the monastic community, although the buildings of the abbey were burnt out and almost all the goods were subsequently taken. It was only after the Thirty Years’ War that a new heyday began, which is inextricably linked to the names of the Baroque abbots Trojer and Tyttl (1681-1738). The marshy soil on which the monastery had traditionally been founded demanded a substruction of oak piles for the mighty baroque new building, which had to be watered permanently. To this day, the stately farms, which were also newly built during this period, are characteristic of the landscape.
With the abolition of the monastery in 1785, the work of the monks on the Plass er a field ended. Its traces can still be seen in the landscape.
Text: Elisabeth Seel/Photo: Ivo Kornatovský